Indianapolis Public Schools is proud to honor our 2006 Hall of Fame inductees.
U.S. Senator Richard G. Lugar
Dr. Alexander Moore
Eugene B. Glick
Kurt Vonnegut Jr.
U.S. Rep. Julia M. Carson
Oscar Robertson
David Letterman
George F. McGinnis
U.S. Senator Maria Cantwell
Pastor Jeffery A. Johnson, Sr.
Vivica A. Fox
Max Siegel
Eugene B. Glick
Shortridge High School
Class of 1939

Eugene B. Glick began his career as a loan officer at the smallest bank in Indianapolis after leaving the Army in 1945. Under his leadership, the bank quickly made more G. I. loans than all other banks in the city combined.

He began selling homes in the evenings with wife Marilyn and eventually started his own company in 1949. Within 12 years the firm set an Indiana record by building more than 1,000 single-family homes in a two-year period.

Today, the Gene B. Glick Company manages 19,000 apartments in 11 states. It was also one of the largest builders in the country, having built over 30,000 residential units. They also build and manage low and moderate income subsidized housing.

Mr. Glick and his company have received numerous awards and honors for professional achievements as well as community service and philanthropic endeavors. To commemorate the company's 50th anniversary - and his 50th wedding anniversary - he wrote Born to Build. An excerpt from the book was included in Tom Brokaw's bestseller The Greatest Generation. Mr. Glick is the founder of Pro-100, a six-week, paid career education program for at-risk teens that trains and mentors them through community service projects.

© Copyright 2013 Indianapolis Public Schools. All Rights Reserved.